SWIFT Partner Sites

SWIFT Talk Blog

From 2013 to 2017, the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education Programs provided funding to SWIFT Center to be the national K-8th grade technical assistance center for schoolwide inclusive education. Through a rigorous selection process, SWIFT selected five states to provide intensive, differentiated support: Maryland, Mississippi, New Hampshire, Oregon, and Vermont. These SWIFT partners accomplished amazing things during this time, and they continue to do so today. Check out some of their SWIFT stories here, as well as link to their district and school websites, where you can take a look at how they are carrying on the message: ALL Means ALL! We are grateful to OSEP for their guidance and funding that enable us to experience these deep, long-lasting partnerships with educators, families and students who were and remain our partners. We believe that together we can transform education so that it benefits each and every student, their families, and ultimately the communities in which they live.

  • Maryland

    Maryland Department of Education selected 4 public school districts to partner with SWIFT: Allegany County, Baltimore City, Cecil County, and Queen Anne’s County. From among these urban and rural districts, 9 elementary, 5 middle, and 2 combined elementary/middle schools worked from 2013-2017 toward a vision of fully integrated education for all students with the support of the federal technical assistance center. Much of this work continues today in the MTSS initiatives occurring statewide.

    Read More
  • Mississippi

    Mississippi Department of Education selected 4 public school districts to partner with them in a SWIFT transformation to inclusive education in 2013; two of these districts merged in 2014. The three districts partners who continued were Meridian, North Panola, and Sunflower County Consolidated, along with 11 elementary and 5 middle schools. When the federal support for inclusive education technical assistance ended in 2017, the state was well equipped to pick up the charge and continue leading the work of creating welcoming and supportive learning for ALL students in their local schools.

    Read More
  • New Hampshire

    New Hampshire Department of Education selected 4 School Administrative Units to participate in SWIFT: SAU 13 (Madison and Freedom School Districts), SAU 60 (Charlestown School District), SAU 64 (Milton & Wakefield School Districts), and SAU 81 (Hudson School District). Eight schools are transforming the way they provide and support education to all students. From 2013-2017 the state department of education, each of the four districts, and their selected schools partnered with SWIFT for differentiated technical assistance to transform the whole system to provide support for all students. See their SWIFT stories here and visit their district or school websites to see how they are doing today.

    Read More
  • Oregon

    Oregon Department of Education selected 4 public school districts to partner with SWIFT: Pendleton, Portland, Redmond, and Sisters.  With 15 elementary or K-8 schools serving both urban and rural communities, they worked from 2013-2017 to include and support all students with support from the federal technical assistance center.  Today the work continues with MTSS as the leading feature of their inclusive school initiatives throughout the state.

    Read More
  • Vermont

    Vermont Agency of Education, Grand Isle and Windham Southeast Supervisory Unions, and selected schools partnered with SWIFT from 2013-2017 under a federal grant supporting inclusive education. Schools from these areas implemented inclusive educational practices to benefit all students, their families, and the communities in which they live. See some of their SWIFT stories here, and visit their district and school websites to catch up with where they are today in their journey to welcome and support all students!

    Read More